Book Review: Princess For Hire by Lindsey Leavitt

Rating: 4.7 stars out of 5

Age Recommended : 12 and up


Princess For Hire was an amazing book that had me captivated from the very first chapter. Lindsey Leavitt showed how your life could be changed with just one bubble bath and magical abilities.      🙂

The book was very exciting and I loved how the author didn’t jump from one character to another. Lindsey Leavitt kept the story-line consistent and the book had twists and turns that kept me engaged.

Desi is an ordinary girl that has a terrible job. When her crush’s girlfriend reveals that the dork in the groundhog costume is Desi, she thinks that her life is ruined. She runs home and tries to drown her sorrows in a bubble bath but even in the bathroom, her privacy isn’t guaranteed.

Meredith, a supposed worker for substitute princesses floats into the bathroom in a huge bubble and tells Desi that she has MP. MP stands for Magic Potential. Desi’s MP gives her the ability to be a “Princess for hire” while the real princesses are on a break!

Book Review: Number The Stars by Lois Lowry

Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars

Age Recommended: 7 and up


Number The Stars was a very kid-friendly book that explained how life was during the Holocaust. The book was really inspirational in terms of the main character’s bravery. It helped me understand how hard life was for Jews back then and how they coped with that.

Lois Lowry has written a Holocaust book in a completely different way. Most books about the Holocaust are written or translated as diaries, and I have read very few books like this one.

Annemarie is a very brave ten-year old and she has many friends who are Jews, including her best friend Ellen. When Ellen’s parents leave her at Annemarie’s house, she can’t help but wonder why.

In this book, Lois Lowry takes you through a journey like no other. How it feels to come out of your house and see soldiers at the corner… or how it feels to have a coffin in your house when nobody has really died. This book will make you realize how fortunate you are…

Book Review: Zen And The Art Of Faking It by Jordan Sonnenblick

Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars

Age Recommended: 11 and up


I think that Jordan Sonnenblick did a good job of expressing what would happen if one tells too many lies. Zen And The Art Of Faking It is a great book and I checked it out over and over again from the library because it was just so good.

San Lee is an eighth grader who is tired of constantly moving to new schools and towns.  Every time he moves to a new school and starts to make new friends, it’s time for him to move again. He doesn’t have many friends in this new school, however, when he answers a lot of questions about Zen in his class, people start thinking that he is a “Zen Master” when actually he had just taken an Asian History course in another school. And now everyone wants to be his friend and the cutest girl in school takes a fancy for San as well.

Will San’s secret be discovered? You’ll have to read to find out more… I definitely recommend this book.

Book Review: Silver On The Tree – Book Five of The Dark Is Rising series by Susan Cooper

Rating : 4.6 out of 5 stars

Age Recommended : 10 and up

silver on

I think that Silver On The Tree was the best book in the entire series. Naturally, it should be, being the last book.        🙂

Silver On The Tree is all about the final battle between Light and Dark. Susan Cooper excellently displays how a minute or even a second, could be the bridge between happiness and utter annihilation. Will alone may not be able to stop the darkness, but how about  the Old Ones together?

Now, we all know that most book series have happy endings. This one though, has a twist…and then a happy ending!

Book Review: The Grey King – Book Four of the Dark Is Rising series by Susan Cooper

Rating : 4.2 out of 5 stars

Age Recommended : 10 and up

grey king

I think that The Grey King was an action – packed book, but it also had the sorrows of life.

The Grey King so far, was the most suspenseful book in the series, and it was all revolving around one mysterious being. That being could have made the difference between Will’s life and death.

In this book, Will was out to find an object (again).The difference was that this time, he had the help of Bran. Bran was just another normal kid like the Drew kids but he got stuck in this tangled mess and figured that he had his own part to play. Bran had to give up many things, but in the end, he was the one that marked the difference between Dark and Light…

Book Review: Greenwitch – Book Three of The Dark Is Rising series by Susan Cooper

Rating : 3.6 out of 5 stars

Age Recommended : 10 and up


Personally, I think that Greenwitch was my least favorite book in the series. The story line was amazing but the way the story unraveled, at least to me was boring and unappealing.

There were some parts of the book that were very interesting, but the majority of the book was very ordinary.

The Greenwitch is all about Jane’s quest to obtain an object. What the object is, she doesn’t know. What Jane does know is that whatever it is, it’s important. It might be the key to winning the battle against the Dark.

Susan Cooper delivers a very nice message in the book about the virtue of selflessness which is shown very well by Jane. The only way that the Greenwitch gave Jane the object was by…

Book Review: The Dark Is Rising – Book Two of The Dark Is Rising series by Susan Cooper

Rating : 4.3 out of 5 stars

Age Recommended : 10 and upthe dark

I found this book way better than the first one in the series because it has a lot more detail. Susan Cooper has extraordinarily shown how people can be affected by little things. I also liked this book because it didn’t really leave any unraveled strings. Susan Cooper straight out told it as it was, and she didn’t leave any unsolved mysteries.

So, here is how it goes…

Will Stanton is a seventh child of a seventh child. During Midwinter’s Eve, Will discovers that he is the only child of the Stanton family that doesn’t have an ornament with his initial carved on it. He doesn’t think much about it then but later he realizes that the ornament could be something that could cause his destruction.

Will doesn’t know much but what he does know is that something or someone called the Black Rider is out to get him. People say he is special. They don’t call him Will, they call him… An Old One…